A Different Perspective…

 

I’ve been lucky enough to visit some incredible places so far this year, from the beautifully chaotic streets of New York and turtle inhabited turquoise bays of Turkey, to the labyrinthian cobbled streets of Barcelona…

While admittedly these adventures haven’t been great for my bank balance, they’ve done wonders for my soul and I’m finding it hard to re-adjust to life back at home by the coast.

I love living beside the sea but, when you’ve lived in the same city for the 25 years, experiencing somewhere new leaves a mark.

So I suppose that’s why I decided to buy a new camera, with the idea that I would use it to get out more and take nice photos for myself of where I live to reignite that spark.

So today I did just that.

Buckling the dogs up in the back of the car, I drove along to the marina near my house, camera in hand to see what I found…

 

(click the images to enlarge)

The sound of anchor chains clinking against their metal hooks as the tide swells and falls could be heard cutting above the early evening birdsong from a chorus of robins and swallows flitting in and out of the trees

It was a beautiful evening, the sound of anchor chains clinking against their metal hooks cut through the air as the tide swelled and fell. T sound of the early evening birdsong from a chorus of robins and swallows flitting in and out of the nearby trees and hedgerows was lovely too. A host of different colours burst into my peripheral view: bright blue sea, striking orange lifebuoys, bright red plant life growing from rocks the colour of a stormy sky.

The sun hung low and bright, providing me with the perfect beginners luck kind of light to practise taking photos. I’ll be the first to admit I don’t really know what I’m doing, I just enjoyed pointing and shooting and seeing what I came up with while Miffy and Daisy wandered along happily beside me at my heels.

 

As we completed our circular route, a passerby mentioned he’d been down here 3 nights this week, camera in hand looking for a reclusive heron that had taken up residence in the rocks. I wished him luck in his search and we went on our way.

One thought on “A Different Perspective…

  1. Love Daisy and Miffy and you took some good shots.
    I think we sometimes take for granted the beauty that surrounds us, made of simple things to.

Leave a Reply

