Strawberry Picking

Way back when the first clusters of bright yellow daffodils popped their heads out of the earth and we all fell in love with pastel colours again, I decided to make myself a summer bucket list.

 

 

Since I’ve already had my summer holiday, I had resigned myself to the fact that I’d be spending my summer in the North East, but hey, that’s okay because I had my summer to-do list. One of my must-not-miss things to do was go strawberry picking and happily, I can say I ticked that off my list this weekend with a visit to Brocksbushes. 

Just 20 minutes or so along the A69 from Newcastle, Brocksbushes is super easy to find and such a fantastic North East tourist attraction. I love the story behind the business most of all; now a thriving PYO fruit farm with its own cafe and award-winning farm shop, Brocksbushes was once upon a time was a soft fruit farm only open eight weeks of the year to those in the know.

 

After paying  a £1 deposit per basket, you’re let loose into the fields to pick your own fruit, so off we went in search of strawberries, raspberries and some early blackberries. It took us a couple of rows to find the good’uns but once we did we were on a roll!

 

Prosecco and Pie Lifestyle blog for the North East of England

 The sun was shining, the berries were beautifully fresh and we had a lovely old time.

There’s no pressure to hurry so after scouring the field for as many berries as we could fit in our baskets, Ashleigh and I couldn’t resist sitting among the trees and grass enjoying the sun, before heading  for an ice cream and some goodies from the farm shop.

Happy with our horde, we headed home where I made Eton Mess with these gorgeous fruit meringues I spied at the farm shop. If you’re looking for a fun day out on a budget, then I definitely recommend Brocksbushes – I spent less than £10 and had a fantastic time. Who couldn’t use more days out like that?!

Next up on my summer to-do list… an afternoon at the Boilershop Steamer!
What would be on your summer bucket list – any ideas for me to try?

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Picking

  1. Love this 🙂 I’ve been wanting to go to Brockbushes for ages, not sure we’ll make it there this Summer though 😦

    Glad your Eton Mess addiction continues 😀 x

Leave a Reply

